Welcome to
The Mane Braid
Ann Russell, 8855 NW 90th Ter, Ocala, FL 34482
PH:
352-266-5316
Email: ann@themanebraid.com
I am a University of Kentucky graduate currently living in north central Florida. I grew up riding and showing horses in Central and Northeastern Ohio spending much of my young life traveling to horse shows and lessons throughout Ohio, Kentucky, Pennsylvania, and West Virginia. As a junior I competed in the hunters at rated shows, but I also was an active 4-H member and was State Champion at 16 in the Sr. age group for the Working Hunter Division. At 17, I started to compete in the jumper divisions at smaller rated shows in the Children's/Adult jumpers. Currently, I own an off-the-track Thoroughbred gelding that I was re-schooling as a hunter prospect, but he has become such a part of the family and he thinks he's a dog. He's the biggest clown I've ever owned and I plan on keeping him for the remainder of his years. However, someday I hope to find a "project" and return to the show ring. For now, braiding has been a great way to keep me connected to the horse show world.

I have worked as a equine veterinary technician since 2000 and my experience encompasses everything from critical care foals and horses to surgery technician to anesthesia. Right now I plan on starting a new chapter in my life an will soon be returning to school to further my education. Until then, I will be traveling throughout the US braiding on the A Circuit.

While I was in Kentucky, I worked for Rood and Riddle Equine Hospital and Hagyard Equine Medical Institute and I even worked for a short time in the Legal department--Rules Compliance at USAEquestrian (now USEF). If you are interested, my full profile and resume is available on LinkedIn.

Even though I spend much of my time traveling across the country braiding, I enjoy kayaking, fishing, gardening, reading, jewelry designing, and lampworking beads (making beads out of glass using a torch). I am also starting to get involved in a little bit of silver-smithing. I always like to stay busy! My house is always a zoo with my five (yes five) cats and my big yellow Labrador Retriever running around. My husband is currently the broodmare manager for Bridlewood Farm and we live less than 10 minutes from the HITS Ocala Show Grounds.

Thank you for visiting my site and I hope to hear from you soon!